Nyoo Viddyohs

I’ve been wanting to get some videos from ye olde Luckiemanne dayes posted on Youtube; my friend Jim just sounds so good on the guitar, I just wanted to share.  What the hell.

We’ll call a spade a spade here.  This is ‘The Crack Whore Song.’  I tap-danced around the title because I sincerely would like people to listen to it.  Not just tattooed, barroom loser dipshits, but, you know, ‘regular‘ people.

I would have looooooved to have made ‘proper’ Action Figure Theater videos for these songs, but there is no way, NO WAY, that I’ve got the time for that.  So I mailed it in, culled what Luckiemanne tintypes I had that featured neithered the Doorstop or the Pumpkinhead  that looked the best, turned on the ‘Ken Burns Effect’ and waited five minutes.  I’m ashamed, I didn’t even bother to sync images up to whatever’s going on in the song.  Still, when some tattooed-up, chomper-chipped, septum-speared and raccoon-ringed barroom schmuck asks his compooper if, after going deep down the Youtube rabbit hole of underground music and coming up goose-egg for Baltimore stuff, now he’ll find him some Swope.

Next, I made ‘Two Days Up,’ a bona fide classic.  Has been since Jim debuted it the Full Moon back in the fall of ’01.  Most honest song about the ups and downs (mostly downs) of the alcoholic lifestyle interspersed with music.  Jimmy’s solo’s are the absolute best I’ve ever heard on this live tape.  It passed me by ‘in the moment,’ as it happened, but on playback it was just fabulous.  The solos put Jim in the ‘Telecaster Pantheon,’ if you will, with Roy Buchanan and Evan Johns.  It’s been seven years, and I still say, ‘Wow.’

Video-wise, a re-hash of the same 50-odd photographs I selected for ‘The Crack Whore Song.’  Sadly, no more thought was put into the visual aspect than picking the photos and pressing ‘Apply Ken Burns Effect.’  I’d even recruited new members to the Action Figure Theater, with the specific intent of casting them for dancing with the girls and the Debble in the Pit of Fahr.

Finally, the epic-length (as they’d say in old DC Comics, ‘novel-length’) saga from the Eddas, ‘The Wolf.’  The lyrics get a little drowned out, but I like how the guitars go together.  That’s me and my friend, playing together.  I wanted to put some parts together to back Jim up that sounded like both Thin Lizzy from ‘Roisin Dubh’ and Ernest Tubb from ‘Driftwood On the River,’ but I just wasn’t up to the job in those days.  Hadn’t played a million songs a million times, and it showed.  Still, if one doesn’t know that, I still think it sounds good. Visually, a re-hash of the 50 ‘good’ Luckiemanne tintypes, but since I had to fill seven-plus minutes, I threw in 3 minutes of unedited footage from the ‘Mexican Girl’ video out of sheer flurking laziness.  Rockie and the Dookus look good during the solo.  Pure chance.

About rockiebee

Husband. Dad. Carpenter. Troubadour. Creative Director for an action figure theater troupe. Video director. Critic. Comics fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nyoo Viddyohs

  1. Pingback: Hawg whores | Imagearmy

Leave a Reply

